Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Pitlochry Festival Theatre still strong in 2012

I have to admit that I still like the way that the Pitlochry Festival Theatre still delivers its programme with a satisfying ‘thump’ on the floor, as the regular mailing of the printed programme for each season is something to be read with consideration, rather than just scanned over, as I do with most web-based content, no matter how well produced.

You can also View and download the theatre’s brochures

This year’s collection seems to offer quite a few performances that appeal to me, which is surprising, because recent years have not had offerings that raised much interest in me, but then again, I am not a confirmed theatre-goer, so for something to attract me, it has to be a little different, or fall fairly squarely within a genre that catches my attention.

Since I don’t want to give anything away, you’ll have to wonder what caught my eye, however, I can say that those which interested were in this list:

When I had a rummage around the pics I had lying around, I was surprised to see that I had never stopped to take a photograph of the theatre. On reflection, I wasn’t really to surprised to learn this, as our arrival in Pitlochry was often aimed at being somewhere else, and a wander along the river to the nearby power station, or through the town itself, usually took priority, while visits to the theatre itself always seem to happen in the dark.

Although it now has a full programme of events, some years ago it was pretty quiet out of its main season, and we often just arrived for drive up into the area, and would find ourselves almost alone in the car park, sharing it with only two or three other cars, and the doors to theatre securely locked until the start of that year’s new season. There was a time when I even began to wonder if I would ever see inside the place.

However, I can still include a view of the theatre, which overlooks the River Tummel. The modern building is still a little unexpected to my eye, as I always used to imagine it to be housed in a little old traditional building – don’t ask me why. Possibly I read too many past histories before actually visiting the place for the first time.

Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Pitlochry Festival Theatre 2010 © James Allan

January 10, 2012 - Posted by | Civilian | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

