Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Daldowie Doocot gate crash – Take 3

I happened to come around the back of the repaired doocot gate instead of the front, and discovered that there was something of a surprise – or perhaps a shock – waiting for anyone that might try crashing into again, should they happen to hit the repaired gatepost (the one on the left, as seen from the road).

I clearly had not been paying attention the first time I passed the repaired item and grabbed a passing pic, as I failed to notice what was supporting the gatepost that had been broken – I thought it was just a wooden post that had been used a support to hold the pieces together while the concrete base set.

I should have taken a closer look…

When I came to this from behind the gate, it became obvious that driving into the repaired gatepost would not be a very good idea – what I had taken to be a simple wooden support was actually a substantial piece of steel girder or H-beam, and it was only its weathered and rusty surface that had stopped me from noticing this when viewing the small section visible above the gatepost.

Doocot gate girder

Doocot gate girder – OUCH!

March 21, 2013 - Posted by | Civilian | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

