Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Glasgow’s graffiti cats

These giant cats were something of a surprise when I made into Glasgow recently.

Glasgow Howard St cats

Glasgow Dunlop St cats

The rendering is quite good, especially given their scale.

Glasgow Dunlop St cats

Glasgow Dunlop St cats

Many years ago I was told by a real artist that one of the tests for artistic talent was to see how well someone claiming to be an artist could create images of cats. If they could produce realistic sketches/drawings/paintings then they passed. But if their attempts looked more like dogs, farmyard animals, or the products of a nuclear holocaust… then they would be advised to claim some other trade or ability.

Glasgow Dunlop St cats

Glasgow Dunlop St cats

I’d have to go along with that, since I might be able to beat anyone into submission with technical illustrations, but I wouldn’t dare try anything artistic, unless using a real airbrush (ie needs compressed air, not a plug-in) – and since this is really a technical tool in many respects, that probably tells what I can do (or used to, years ago.)

Glasgow Howard St cats

Glasgow Howard St cats

For as long as they last, these cats can be found in Howard Street and Dunlop Street. Since I don’t get to pick and choose when I visit, I just had to shoot around the parked cars, otherwise I’d have returned at a time when the streets would have been deserted, and I could have taken clear shots of the walls.

Glasgow Howard St cats

Glasgow Howard St cats

I didn’t realise it at the time, but later discovered that if there had been more time and I had walked on a bit further, there was more work (not cats, but at least one Dalek apparently) just a little further on. I haven’t been able to get back, and it will probably be gone by the time I do, but I have made a note to check if I do get near any time soon.

April 2, 2014 - Posted by | photography | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

