Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Final phase of New Lanark restoration set to begin

I find it almost amazing to read that work described a restoration of the FINAL building to be restored at New Lanark has been funded, and is about to begin.

I was still at school when I learned of New Lanark, which was one the places the school took my class during a week away when we were treated to a break, a sort of ‘retreat’, where we stayed at various places of interest, and we spent a day there.

I was so impressed, my project documenting the village and the mill history even won a prize.

Then, the entire village was a derelict ruin, bar the few houses that were still occupied. We could not even visit the factory buildings or school, such was their truly dangerous condition – not that there would have been anybody to show us around.

I did not return until I was an adult, and over the years was able to watch the place grow as money was found to fund the work, and bring people back to live in the restored homes.

The only I dislike intensely about the progress made down there is the appearance of an expensive luxury hotel, fitted onto one of the old factory building – but, on the other hand, I do acknowledge that its presence is probably one of the factors that maintains the village and keeps it view, so I have to tolerate it. And it’s buried away at the far end of the site, so I don’t have to see it – much.

The only thing I really miss is the little car museum that once lived there (and moved to the Argyll Car Factory in Alexandria, but closed not long after). I never made it through the door before it moved, as I saw most of the exhibits out of doors, as I usually visited on special days where they were brought out for an airing. I didn’t make the same mistake while it was in Alexandria I’m out of touch now, but it closed around 2009, and may not have re-opened.)

Work on £1.5m New Lanark restoration set to begin – The Scotsman

I got lucky (since I had no camera back in those days), and tripped over a pic of New Lanark as seen in 1980, which shows the condition of the buildings then:

July 14, 2015 - Posted by | Civilian | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

