Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Where does the time go? Kelvingrove galleries already up for revamp

It’s funny how time can pass you by and you hardly notice it.

I went to the 2006 opening (or re-opening of Kelvingrove) after its massive refurbishment – and due to various changes in circumstances around since then, never made it back.

Probably the main factor is that I’d have to use public transport, and that a pig of trip from where I live, and would take ages and involve a lot of walking. Walking’s not a problem, but having to spend the time wasted doing it in streets, and maybe getting soaked through… just puts me off the idea.

So it was a bit of shock to see how long I’d put this adventure off, when I saw that the Life Gallery, which displays Sir Roger the elephant, and the museum’s Spitfire, will close to allow the Spitfire to be lowered and checked over, while the opportunity is taken to remodel the gallery.

I’ll have to try to plan a route there that makes better use of the day.

In the ‘old’ days I used to be able to pop into the transport museum and Kelvingrove with no effort, so I think I need to do something the same, only based around the nearest train station.

Until then, I’ll make do with the People’s Palace, at least I can walk there in a couple of hours, and there’s interesting stuff to see and photograph on the way.

I’ve got the same pic as seen below, showing the Spitfire and gallery back them – but can’t lay hands on mine (quickly, at least) so thank goodness for this one being available for re-use. I would say I might even be in this one, but can’t be – when I was there, the people were packed in like sardines!

August 10, 2015 - Posted by | Civilian | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

