Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

How I was (not) totally ignored by The Telegraph and Twitter

TelegraphWW2

TelegraphWW2 Twitter account

I’m suffering a double dose of disappointment at the moment.

I usually find most web sites I drop a note advising of problems with their content at least offer the courtesy of an acknowledgement, and even the odd ‘Thank You for bothering’. But complete ignorance is unusual.

I used to look forward to seeing archive material from The Telegraph, tweeted to their account as depicted in the attached graphic, but a while ago I realised I was getting nothing more than a daily dose of trash news via dozens of daily tweets from this account.

I’ve spent the past week trying to do the ‘Right Thing’, and replied to every tweet they sent, asking then to explain the connection between current daily news trivia and World War II.

No response or acknowledgement whatsoever – not even ‘Get Lost!’

At the same time, I’ve used Twitter’s own ‘Report’ option to alert them to the fact that The Telegraph is tweeting material unrelated to the account, and is also spamming (by repeating most of the tweets at least once).

Twitter doesn’t offer any feedback for reported material, but the account is still present and continuing the same abuse almost 2 weeks after I started reporting it.

I’ve also emailed The Telegraph’s digital services department a number of times, with each email creating a unique automated case – none of which have yet produced the courtesy of a reply from the department.

Ah well… shame.

At least I know I tried.

Two weeks of trying is enough – I don’t care now.

Update

After I started blogging about this in more public arenas, I suddenly got an email response (after almost 2 weeks), and the modern day news trivia being tweeted under the guise of WW2 archive material also stopped at the same time.

There have been no more of these modern tweets for more than 24 hours

The email said the digital folk at he Telegraph were aware of an issue, did not know how to fix it, but were working on it.

May 20, 2016 - Posted by | World War II | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

