Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

PH Components becomes Dunlop’s Auto Shop

Expanding the empire from its (kind of) recent move to larger premises in Shettleston, I spotted my local car shop had taken over the derelict PH Components shop between Cambuslang and Rutherglen a while ago, and is due to open this year.

Funny how the colours of the sign came up so much more vividly in the first floodlit shot, possibly thanks to the many new LED floodlights they have.

It was quite a surprise to see this shining in the night, as the original black fronted shop had lain empty for some time after that business closed.

Rutherglen Dunlop's Auto Store

Rutherglen Dunlop’s Auto Store

The later daylight pic is much more drab and dull – and also odd, as it looks as if someone has broken all the floodlights from their mountings since I was last there, and every single one is hanging from its wires in front of the sign. Yet they were all tidily mounted in the first pic.

Rutherglen Dunlop's Auto Store

Rutherglen Dunlop’s Auto Store

Sad to say, the offer of “Any part For Any Car” (apart from being an excuse to call for public flogging of the sign-maker for dreadful use of capitalisation AND lack of apostrophe in the name – an error carried over from their Shettleston signs) has to be taken with care. Since I was passing the door on the way home one day (a few years ago), and had just had the privilege of having had one of Scotland’s finest ‘dumb deer’ try to end its life by piling itself into the SIDE of my car, I needed a new headlight, so thought I’d rather give Dunlop’s the money than the dealer. While they tried for two days, they eventually had to admit defeat, and tell me they couldn’t get Proton parts.

Things got worse after that.

As per Murphy’s Law, the deer had trashed the GOOD side of my car, meaning I had lost a perfectly good headlight unit.

Just after that, a new MOT tester started working in my local station. Since he clearly wanted to make a name for himself, he decided that the crack in the OTHER headlight unit (which had not been a problem for the past 5 or more MOTs) was a fail point, and I had to go buy a new one for THAT side too. No argument. No discussion.

I hate deer.

Did I mention that before? I hate them, I really do.

January 8, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

