Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Little Barrowland sign at the People’s Palace

I recently chanced across the Barrowland sign all lit up one evening, which for me at least was interesting since I had no idea it even worked let alone was maintained and used – I’m simply not usually there when it’s dark.

I’d largely forgotten the Barrowland display in the People’s Palace – while it occupies a corner it’s kind of dark, and hidden behind a column that reaches to the ceiling.

The column is home to a small reproduction of the Barrowland neon sign, which can be seen best from the stairs leading to the next floor up. Sad to say, while this is a genuine working neon sign, when I noticed it recently only the main word ‘Barrowland’ was lit. The stars were not working, although the pic might suggest they are. This is just an effect of the phosphors being slightly excited by nearby lighting.

I’ll have to remember to watch this one in future, and try to catch it all lit one day.

People's Palace Barrowland neon sign

People’s Palace Barrowland neon sign

January 29, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography | , , | Leave a comment

   

