Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

People’s Palace Viewing Gallery – Part 2

After I posted the discovery of the People’s Palace Viewing Gallery recently, it struck me the item was incomplete – no exterior view!

The interior pics show it is almost a stairway to nowhere inside the building, leading only to that upper window.

From the outside, the stairhead and gallery rise above the glass roof of the Winter Gardens, almost (to me) like a little gun turret or similar. It was handy being there late enough for the lighting to pick it out.

While this one hold a stairwell, the matching feature on the other side is home to the building’s lift, so not really anything to see there.

Peoples Palace viewing gallery above  Winter Gardens

Peoples Palace viewing gallery above Winter Gardens

I struggled picking a closer view of the gallery since no matter how I framed the shot, converging and diverging verticals combined with the shooting angle to make an image that just looked ‘wrong’ when seen in isolation.

In the end, I selected two pics that eventually managed to be tweaked to look reasonably ‘square’ or ‘straight’, and not give the impression that I had been drunk and unable to hold the camera.

I just wanted to show the detail of the structure, and the interior I had shown in the previous post.

Peoples Palace viewing gallery exterior

Peoples Palace viewing gallery exterior

 

Peoples Palace viewing gallery exterior

Peoples Palace viewing gallery exterior

I’d like to say I learned something while trying to present these views, but other than finding them very awkward to make look as if all the angles lined up, I couldn’t find any particular method, and ended up using ‘trial & error’ along with the MKI eyeball until things just looked ‘right’.

February 2, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

