Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Being fit actually DOES have some advantages

Fit dude

I’ve never been an ‘exercise’ person, but at least when working I had to move around, even if I ended up ‘Driving a desk’. Pastimes/hobbies got me out and about exploring, and that meant a fair bit of walking – but no more cars ended that too.

Cue the day I noted alarming signs of weakness merely tackling a few rungs of my loft ladder, I had to change.

This is NOT a post about what I did, merely one that notes it makes a difference.

I’ve had a couple of ‘accidents’ while out walking over the past couple of nights: first up was one of those ‘ambush’ slides that tries to flatten you if your heel lands on the muddy slime that collects in pavement hollows, most are small and just alarming as your heel pretends its on ice and slides away from under you, but this one was long and I don’t really know how I stayed upright, I should have gone down; second was just silly as I crossed the road in the dark and failed to judge a slightly misshapen kerb, my foot slipped off and I shot forward, I watched the ground head towards my face, but some crazy footwork meant I somehow held my balance and managed to catch this fall too.

In the past, the strain of such ‘catches’ (if unfit me could even have made them) would have meant sore muscles for  days – I know because similar things have done this in the past – but now… nothing, not even an ache.

It’s rather nice NOT to sitting in pain for a few days – it was even nicer not to hit the ground.

Guess I have a little motivation to keep it up – although I didn’t really need it… Looking at some of my neighbours, who are doubling over and even needing walking aids was enough to get me going, start running a little, and even get on a bike occasionally.

March 2, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

