Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Ex-fox

From a technical point, there are probably not too many types of photo I wouldn’t claim to be able to take, but…

I don’t seem to be in a position to go for wildlife, at least not in an urban environment – I remain amazed at what neighbours can achieve.

It’s probably the one thing I envy about their pics, as many have caught foxes, birds, and other animals – yet I seldom see these creatures near enough for similar shots, even with a zoom lens. Except for the robins that sometimes visit when I am digging in the garden. These guys risk being buried, either grabbing bugs freshly uncovered as I dig a hole, or even sitting on the shovel while I check progress for a moment!

The urban fox would appear to occupy the east end of Glasgow in significant numbers (probably sustained by the significant rat population). I often meet them in the streets, see them in gardens, and now realise they are probably the reason for all the PIR floodlights I see going on and off, even though there is no obvious cause. Cats are usually too small (and insulated by their fur), and dogs are locked up indoors at night.

But, even though folk who know me complain about me creeping about quietly, I don’t seem able to get near any of those foxes to grab a pic – even before I reach for a camera, they’ve generally turned tail and run, having spotted, or smelt, the human.

All I get is dead examples, this being the second, in Carntyne, preceded by one in Baillieston.

Carntyne dead fox

Carntyne dead fox

March 2, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

