Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

The lone cyclist

This may not look like much, but is actually something that deserves a bit of credit and even some admiration.

This was grabbed a few weeks ago (purely thanks to all the automatics in the camera, grabbed, pointed in the general direction and fired without any prep before he disappeared again), while we were still enjoying dry, but freezing days. Although he’s hidden and well wrapped up, the gent on the bike actually matches the honest description ‘little old man’ and he doesn’t travel fast – at a guess, I run as fast as he rides.

But I’ve come to realise he’s been passing me at his steady pace for some time now, possibly a year or two, or even more. At first I thought he was going somewhere, but over time I realised he was actually just circling the same part of the A74 London Road. It’s not a bad idea either, now that the motorway has siphoned off nearly all the traffic that used to thunder along it en masse. It used to be a life-threatening experience to cross. Now? I could almost wander across without even seeing a vehicle. Even at its busiest, only burst of vehicles are seen, as they are held and released in batches by near redundant traffic lights – almost all could be replaced by Give Way signs nowadays.

But back to our cyclist. I feel embarrassed, having taken up my (apparently now collectablevintage) cycle last year, a mishap left me laid up and unable to ride for weeks soon after, and despite plans to ride at least a little to keep fit over winter, have yet to get back on. So much for plans to stay ‘riding fit’.

I had to change my walking route, so haven’t been there regularly for a while, and haven’t seen him since.

Lone cyclist

Lone cyclist

Seeing the pic some weeks later, I’m surprised to see it looks deliberately shot, even framed with the rider between the trees, as opposed to the frantic grab needed to get the camera out of its pocket and at least pointing in the general direction needed. I guess I was lucky this was a bright and sunny day, and it chose a fast shutter speed meaning no shake/blur, and the anti-shake also did its job too.

March 13, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography | | Leave a comment

   

