Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Pollock House is open for visitors again

Pollock House is one of those places I should have been to, more than once too, but never have.

The occasion never really arose, and its location (as I found when I looked at public transport routes to the Burrell Collection) is not straightforward from where I live on the opposite side of Glasgow. Before I was priced off the road, I even considered driving there was awkward, as you had to know the roads well to avoid getting lost in the maze of local roads. Unlike Glasgow city centre, many are not on a grid layout, and both curve and connect at odd angles, which can defeat the best ‘Sense of direction’.

The house reopened on 1 April 2017 following a period of refurbishment.

I like to know how long these refurbishments take, and although I can remember the closure being notified, I can’t recall when that was.

This sort of info can usually be found online, but in this case this is almost impossible thank to the many online review and attraction listing web sites – which I consider are largely rubbish and a waste of space. I, for one, don’t believe most of the reviewers.

To be clear… I hate them all, and have NEVER (and would/will NEVER) refer to them. All their content is stolen and second-hand hearsay anyway.

The problem arises when trying to search for info on ‘Pollock House Glasgow’ or similar, when the majority of items returned by a search comprised mostly paid, sponsored, or ‘search engine optimised’ drivel from these useless sources (which are ultimately desperate to get ad revenue).

So, much as I would LIKE to state when Pollock House close for refurbishment, I simply can’t.

But maybe I’ll work out a simple combination of public transport options and see the place before I pop my clogs.

I wonder if there’s a decent route by bike, might be less insane and awkward.

Pollock House 2013

Pollock House 2013

April 6, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

