Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Weird happening at the old pumping station

While passing the old Clyde Ironworks pumping station on the River Clyde last night, something odd happened.

As I came up from the river via the Clyde Walkway and cycle route, as I glanced over at the old pumping station I saw clouds of black smoke apparently billowing out from the roof.

Being late-ish in the evening, my first thought was that I’d come across vandal, possibly having just broken in and set light to the place, and started to make myself scarce – but when I reached the path closer to civilisation and turned to have a look and see what might be happening… no smoke, nothing, nothing at all.

I couldn’t take a camera this evening, or I’d have stopped long enough to catch a pic, so have no evidence.

I don’t know if this pumping station has been repurposed, or is derelict. I did have an explore around it once, but there’s little to see (most of it is bricked up) and the most interesting thing was walking along the ledge over the river.

The only thing similar that comes to mind is the cloud of thick black smoke that can pour from a large old diesel engine as it starts.

I have no explanation for what I saw, and regret heading south instead of west as I hurried away, as the latter would have given me a clear view from the bridge, only moments later. The way I went has it’s view blocked by trees.

Pumping station, River Cyde, Bogleshole

Can’t find my own pics quickly, so this fuzzy Google Earth clip will have to do…

Clydebridge Ironworks Pumping Station

Clydebridge Ironworks Pumping Station

May 3, 2017 Posted by | Civilian | , , , , | Leave a comment

Why I hate being forced to use the compact

While I gain the advantage of being able to catch pics on days when I can’t carry a dSLR/zoom combo, I still can’t say I’m happy with having to use a small pocketable compact camera.

While the disadvantages remain outweighed by the fact of catching pics that would otherwise have been missed, it’s still not fun using a camera that takes time to switch on, has to grind the zoom lens out and in before becoming useable, takes ages to focus, and then to take the pic after the shutter button has been pressed. It’s so different from a dSLR, always on and ready to go with no fuss – it’s actually a better point-and-click camera than a… point-and-click camera. I won’t even dwell on the delivery of an image that can’t be cropped or zoomed (as it’s too fuzzy).

But the biggest pain is the lack of viewfinder, and having to hold the thing at arm’s length to use the screen on the back for composing and checking the shot – it’s so discreet and unnoticeable (NOT!).

Even a ‘large’ LCD doesn’t show enough detail to warn of failure of the autofocus, and it’s too late to redo the shot after you get home and see the full-size image.

The first pic was the one I wanted, just for the fun of the ‘First cat spotted outdoors for Spring 2017’, but useless autofocus.

The second pic is focussed, but useless, with the cat behind the fence, and not looking cute on the window ledge.

Cat Focus Fail

Cat Focus Fail

May 3, 2017 Posted by | photography | , | Leave a comment

   

