Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Missed me – again

It seems to be a long time since I came across a proper ‘Missed me’ scene – nearly all the walls, fences, and bollards on my wandering routes seem to have been fixed, or just removed if that better suited the relevant budget.

I know this is new, apart from passing the spot reasonably regularly, there were fresh, clean, and shiny bits of broken car stuck in soil at the bottom of this ever-so-slightly modified fence.

The knobbly footpath shows this happened at a pedestrian crossing, and is clearly the result of a car coming up Clydeford Road at speed, possible ignoring the traffic lights, losing control,and speeding through the junction into this fence.

Make your own guess as to why the driver didn’t manage to negotiate a simple traffic light controlled T-junction.

I’m just glad I wasn’t there, and thinking about crossing Cambuslang’s main street, but then again, it probably happened in the middle of the night, so I wouldn’t (have been).

Cambuslang Fence Crash

Cambuslang Fence Crash

May 17, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography, Transport | , , | Leave a comment

Cocky guide dog sticker explained

I finally got around to solving a little mystery that has been puzzling me for a long time.

It’s more than a year since I first spotted a few of the stickers seen below, around Duke Street (and near Tennant’s Wellpark Brewery – but I never knew that would be significant), and wondered what they meant. Sadly, there are actually some sad people who can afford to have idiot nonsense stickers printed, and just throw them up for no apparent reason – I thought this was maybe an example of that affliction, so never really bothered about them.

But a few have survived the weathering and tidy-ups, and I decided to snap one, and see if there was anything online – there was…

Cockier Guide Dogs Sticker

Cockier Guide Dogs Sticker

Seems that Tennent’s Wellpark was:

a new Scottish series of online comedy sketches, has been released on YouTube and social media.

Developed by a collective of up-and-coming talent that were brought together by Tennent’s Lager, Wellpark was borne out of the hope to create something not only funny, but also bold and original.

Well, I don’t have the time to sit through the rest – but I hope they are better this truly dire offering…

There’s probably a good joke in there – but whoever thought this one up certainly didn’t find it.

Still, staying positive, at least I solved the mystery of the sticker.

May 17, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography | , , , | Leave a comment

   

