Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Glamour at St Andrew’s Suspension Bridge

I don’t usually do people or candid shots, and don’t move in the right circles to find glamour, but got lucky yesterday.

While I was wandering around Glasgow Green I was followed by a small photography team with a model, and it was inevitable that they’d eventually intrude into one my collections.

I hope they had permission, as I recall reading that Glasgow City Council requires this (currently £434 for a half day – less than 4 hours – or £881 for a full day) for commercial TV, filming, or photography.

Glasgow City council – Book of Charges (pdf)

I wouldn’t normally have even noticed this, but for some recent court cases I noted, and the issues they raised…

Photography can be risky in the UK – just having a camera might get you into trouble

In this case, they ‘intruded’ into pics I was taking of the St Andrew’s Suspension Bridge over the River Clyde, and its plaque in particular.

I live in fear now, having caught this view without planning it, of a presumably professional model, and DON’T have a signed release authorising my use of the image.

I await the knock at my door, the frog-march to court, fine, and possibly even jail-time for my heinous crime.

Or worse! Since I have taken a picture of a woman’s bare legs… and arms… without asking her permission.

Perhaps I should just go and hand myself in at the nearest police station, and save myself the days of worry.

St Andrew's Suspension Bridge Model

St Andrew’s Suspension Bridge Model

May 21, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

