Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Missed me – again

It’s only a few days since I walked along this particular piece of road, and at first I didn’t realise something fairly major had happened.

First clue was pieces of car headlight reflector, some silvered plastic caught my eye first, then I saw pieces of the unit, and these led to some more pieces of grille. But for the silvered parts, what little there was could have been missed as it was spread over a distance of about 15 metres, and was only what was left after the rest was swept up, and not noticeable unless all seen together. No bits big enough to ID the car.

I checked the road and kerb, (and the trees which grow from the grassy part of the kerb here) and found some rubble knocked loose from the kerb about another 15 metres from the line of remains. But there were no skid marks, so whatever happened had not seen any heavy braking take place.

For once, the pic I took shows little (and there was not point in taking a pic of the bits of plastic), and I concluded the car/vehicle had left the road and gone through the metal fence pictured.

I base this on the Police blue/white tape which is all on the other side of the fence (I’ve had to inset a slight enlargement to identify it) as are the larger parts of plastic panelling from the car (they’re mostly black and just don’t show up against the ground in the pic).

The pic doesn’t really show much as it’s clear the recovery and clean up time got their fast, did their job, and even got the damaged fence repaired quickly – it was only after seeing the whole scene and standing back a little which showed the finish of these fence sections was different to that of the older sections to either side, giving away their newness. Apart from that, all those bits are behind the fence – and that didn’t happen unless the fence was knocked down.

I have to confess to being impressed by these recovery services. I’ve seen a couple of incidents that disabled the car involved, so not drivable, and made a mess of the surrounding area, and while things like brick walls take time to arrange, the tidy up of the ground and removal of the car can be done in hour or two – as long as it take me to get to the shops and make the return trip.

London Road Cleaned Up Crash

London Road Cleaned Up Crash

That’s two fairly major misses in a matter of days (I posted one in Cambuslang a few days ago).

I wonder if I should be worried?

I tend to think, or imagine, this sort of thing comes in threes, so the next one might be too close for comfort.

May 25, 2017 Posted by | photography, Transport | , | Leave a comment

A little bird on bird action

I really didn’t expect to catch this shot, with the waiting time for the compact camera to wake up and initialise, then the time for the power zoom to zip out to the 10X end, then more time for the autofocus to settle on the backlit image – the real bird on the sculpted bird should have spotted me, laughed, and flown away long before the camera decided it was ready to shoot.

But it didn’t, and even got the exposure right too (I had time for second shot and tweaked its exposure for the backlighting, but it was hopelessly overexposed – the auto setting really does work surprisingly well.

The sculptured heron is one commissioned by Sustrans in 1998, and is sited on the banks of the River Clyde at Carmyle , near the Clydeford bridge. It is intended to symbolise the environmental regeneration of the river, and stands over 8 metres high on the Clyde Walkway near Cambuslang, and Route 75 of the National Cycle Network.

Clyde Heron and Bird

Clyde Heron and Bird

May 25, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography, Transport | , , , | Leave a comment

   

