Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Oh deer

I suppose I’ll have to stop grumbling about having to take the little compact out some days (as opposed to the dSLR and its gem of a sensor). Granted the pics are not pixel sharp, it’s slow, and doesn’t have a proper viewfinder (I absolutely HATE holding the thing at arm’s length to see that rear display) – but one cannot argue with the logic that says the best camera you have is the one you have with you to catch a pic.

In this case, a flashing white ‘deerbutt’ alerted me to the presence of this example of the world’s least ‘road aware’ species (much thicker than two short planks if near a road, they are so dumb they are truly scary and very very dangerous) as I passed the site of the Baggyminnow Pond swans – this pair disappeared in the past few days, so I guess their eggs hatched recently and the family marched along to the nearby River Clyde and have now swam away. Maybe I’ll see them there later.

I couldn’t see the deer in the long grass, but hit the button and made an appointment with the compact to take pictures in the near future, and after it woke up and sorted itself out after the usual buzzing and whirring, set the zoom to 10X and scanned around.

I got lucky as something made the deer look up just as I spotted its back, and for once, I actually got a proper pic, complete with head.

Baggyminnow Deer

Baggyminnow Deer

Baggyminnow Pond Deer Original

Baggyminnow Pond Deer Original

I was really surprised there was enough detail for a little post-processing, especially when I noted the speed was 400 ASA to help the anti-shake with the long zoom.  I usually think anything not caught at 100 ASA can’t be cropped, but this proves me wrong. It’s just a pity there is no RAW option, or even choice of compression, but then again, it will even slip into a trouser pocket, which is not a bad trick for 10X zoom. And having had ‘longer’ zoom similar compact and even bridge cameras, the size disadvantage of 12X or even 15X makes little difference at this level, but adds bulk and drops image quality at this level. (Click thumb for bigger).

May 26, 2017 Posted by | photography | , , | Leave a comment

   

