Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

There should be special HELL reserved for web sites that demand you remove your adblocker

Like many (and I suspect especially those who have been around since the start of the Internet and watched its takeover by commercial interests) I use a an adblocker with its setting turned up to ’11’ – aided by some supplementary addons to make that ’11+’.

I have NO INTEREST in a ANY ADVERTS at all.

NONE!

I have NEVER in my life looked at an advert PUSHED to me (of course, I go looking for, and search for adverts, but only those I am interested in, not being pestered, nagged, or diverted

But this appears to be a message that advertisers, and those that carry their adverts seem unable, or unwilling to comprehend or accept.

They seem to think I am somehow obliged to accept their theft of my bandwidth, and assault on my eyes.

Now, it is becoming common for them to spy on me, and creep around by browser and computer, to sniff out any evidence of the use of an adblocker, and if they find any…

To BLOCK my viewing of their web site, and BLACKMAIL me into removing my adblocker before they will let me in.

The say ‘Please disable your adblocker’ but in reality, their coding is so poor that even doing this often FAILS to allow access, and the blocking CONTINUES.

I say ‘poor coding’ to be generous, but I’m pretty sure this is a deliberate move intended to force uninstallation of the adblockers in the hope the user will not bother to re-install.

NO CHANCE!

Not only will I NEVER EVER remove or disable my adblocker – I will NEVER visit such sites again, or recommend them to anyone.

These intrusive appeals have recently come close to making me send equally rude emails to the offenders, but that would bring me down to their level of depravity.

This image popped up recently on imgur and will now be kept in reserve as a ‘polite’ response to them:

(Be nice if everyone did the same.)

Adblock Blocker Reply

Adblock Blocker Reply

You may also be interested in:

uBlock Origin :: Add-ons for Firefox

June 6, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

