Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Adam West tribute

Just saw this pop up on an image sharing web site I watch.

Unfortunately not credited, so I can’t give the proper source either, but it does seem appropriate and worth sharing.

Adam West Tribute

Adam West Tribute

While the later films and animated series may have had higher and more sophisticated production values, I think West’s 1960s TV series was, and is, the definitive conversion of the original comic series, and all the little quirky touches were inspired by that original.

While I get the later ‘darkening’ of the Dark Knight, I also think it made the story too deep and too serious compared to the original.

The original had the right mix of light-heartedness, comedy, and fun, to make the mad super villains that were Batman’s foes work perfectly.

The only other version that really worked for me was an animated series that was shown during kids’ TV on Saturday morning.

Sad to say I don’t know the year, or which animated series it was.

The reason I remember it was when I realised how serious it was, after I had just started watching it as a series for little kiddies.

After a few weeks, I began to see that the episodes appeared to work on two levels: the obvious one that for the kids; but also a much darker theme linking the Batman and his adversaries.

It may just have been me, but while there was the outward fun of cartoon for the kids, I began to see a more serious storyline underlying the obvious., with both the Batman and the villains appearing to stop just short of actions that would, I think, have placed the series not as Saturday morning kids’ TV, but as a post watershed (9 pm in the UK) adult TV series.

 

June 11, 2017 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

