Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Sir Billy Connolly – honourable mention

Although I managed to grab some pics of his birthday murals in Glasgow, I didn’t get a chance to watch the BBC documentary Billy Connolly: Portrait of a Lifetime about their creation, or of the stories behind their artwork until last night.

It also means a trip to the People’s Palace is in order, as the originals are on show there.

And while it may not have been the subject of the programme, my lasting memory of will be a clip from one of is recent stage shows:

I’ve got Parkinson’s Disease. I wish he’d fuckin’ kept it!

Now it’s Sir Billy Connolly

I’m not a great follower of the news these days, populated as it is by too many people trying to get noticed, or absurd opportunist politicians trying to score some sort of points over their opponents – frankly, my Bullshit Detector can’t handle it all, so I just don’t bother.

Bull Det MkII

Bull Det MkII

But I do watch the ‘Bullet Point’ headlines, and the first one I saw this morning was:

‘Hairy rebel’ pleased to be Sir Billy Connolly

Scottish comedian Billy Connolly said he was “pleased and a little embarrassed” to get a knighthood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

The 74-year-old Glaswegian said he did not know much about what it would mean.

The star told BBC Scotland: “It won’t really dawn on me until Glasgow people start calling me ‘Sir Billy’ or whatever they come up with.”

He said it felt strange to be welcomed into the establishment as he still thought of himself as a “hairy rebel”.

Unlike some (who are thankfully long forgotten) he didn’t make a great fuss, or protest his hatred of ‘The Establishment’, but simply said:

It’s an honour and I’ll accept it honourably.

The only problem I might possibly see with receiving such an honour these days… is some of the rubbish you have to share it with. there’s some real dross in there this year.

But, forgetting them, it’s really nice to see Sir Billy, who earned hos honour over the years.

Also, I’m not sure who was first, or if they both have ‘Imaginative and original’ writers on their staff (or perhaps neither do), but I saw the appearance of a pair of similarly ‘Inspired’ (Ha!) headlines later in the day:

Arise, Sir Billy: Big Yin gets knighthood in honours list (STV)

Arise Sir Big Yin as Scottish comic icon Billy Connolly awarded knighthood (Daily Record)

June 17, 2017 Posted by | Civilian | , | Leave a comment

Two numbers and two letters – nearly always nice

While I don’t think I will EVER come to terms with the horror that is the SUV (by whatever euphemism), or forgive BMW for working its magic on the X5 all those years ago and making it handle, I’ll also probably always like registrations with two numbers and two letters.

I think it’s nothing more than their neatness (obviously shorter than normal), and symmetry (compared to one number and two or three letters) that makes them notable for me. I could list some more ‘features’ but that’s not my intent. But might add I like the cur-down short number plates too.

In this case, lumbered by a fairly huge, black, 2014 Audi Q7 S Line + TDI Quattro A.

It may have been nice and shiny, but this 7-seater mobile cave was taking up the road to carry a tiny kid almost lost n, and able to run around the passenger footwell and get lost. Do people REALLY need a small private bus to themselves?

Audi Q7 78 EC

Audi Q7

June 17, 2017 Posted by | Civilian, photography, Transport | , | Leave a comment

   

