Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

A little Ferrari to brighten a glum day

Since I started the day with a glum post, I thought I’d raise (some) spirits with an interesting Ferrari I found while haunting the back lanes of Glasgow. Getting off the beaten track can have its benefits.

The special bonnet openings (which lead to ducts along the side and are named as ‘Aero Bridge’) give this away as a Ferrari F12 Berlinetta, in this case of early 2013 vintage.

Sadly, not fitted with a cherished number (or any at all in this view, although I know it, just a standard 13 plate), so no gem in that department.

Over 700 prancing horses on tap (almost 750 in reality) and 690 Nm (509 lb ft) of torque means around 3 seconds to 60 and 211 mph if there’s enough road handy.

I believe, at the time of this post, only three production Ferrari’s exceed these specs, and it was the most powerful when it was first released.

I think the most remarkable figure is actually the weight, with 12 different aluminium alloys claimed, and about 1,600 kg on the road.

Given the legislative changes over the years that’s not bad for a V12, as my (German) V8 from the 1980s is the same weight, if a bit slower.

Ferrari F12 Berlinetta 2013

Ferrari F12 Berlinetta 2013

Revised thoughts

I thought more about the performance gap mentioned, and thing my 1980s ‘supercar’ actually bears up well to this modern version.

Given that my V8 gives away just over 430 hp to the Italian, a top speed about 60 mph less is not so bad (recall that drag does not rise linearly, but exponentially with speed), and the dash to 60 between 5 and 6 seconds is not so shabby for the age either.

I think it’s even better, as the engine is not tuned for performance, but long distance Autobahn cruising, producing not much more than 60 bhp per litre, it will run flat-out for mile after mile. I think this is an aspect often forgotten today, where impressive numbers and short journeys are more likely.

Given Ferrari’s legendary reliability (or perhaps lack thereof), I know which one I’d chose for a road trip, even today.

July 1, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography, Transport |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

