Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

And the pile of charred junk was…

It’s not that often I get something wrong (AND admit it) but I did get taken by surprise while out for a wander one night, and completely failed to realise what I was looking at – until I woke up from the semi-trance state I usually enjoy while walking. Why I don’t bump into things or people is a mystery, but I don’t.

As is becoming the custom, this was found after another change to my ‘regular’ route, and once again shows that the ‘interesting’ stuff never happens when I’m around. I only find it later.

In this case, after noticing my path was almost blocked by some burnt and charred rubbish, I was puzzled about how it came to be there, and who would have dumped.

I was so puzzled I failed to notice the obvious clues at first (well, to be fair, it WAS dark AND the remains were blackened, these pics only appear ‘light’ as they have been processed to recover the image – note the lit door in the background of one of them), maybe I should have noticed things such as the jockey wheel, and bits of chassis.

But then again, a caravan without its body is a pretty rare sight – especially when not only the body, but the interior has been burnt to a crisp, and all that remains are things like a gas bottle, and odd pieces of nondescript metalwork. The rest is lightweight and inflammable, so doesn’t last long once the fire catches hold. I guess steel survives, but lightweight aluminium probably doesn’t have a chance.

This pic shows how it looked the first time I found it, although I had to go back for this view later, but I wanted to see how it looked when found it the first time, and didn’t quite realise what it was (in the dark). I thought there was more junk on the footpath, but then again, I tend to follow the kerb in my usual trance, like a ‘white line follower’.

Ex Caravan Dusk

Ex Caravan Dusk

First time around, I grabbed this shot in the dark, and it was actually the remaining piece of body still standing on the right that made me twig as to what I was looking at.

Ex Caravan Dark

Ex Caravan Dark

While not wanting to promote vandalism, arson, or fire-raising, this find does make me wonder about some stories I’ve seen in the media over the years.

According to the reporters, concerned, a caravan left on the road cannot be given a parking ticker, nor is there any legislation in place which allows either the police or council to move, or remove, it as an obstruction, unlike an abandoned car (or even a parked car!).

In fact, according to those stories, items such as caravans and trailers, if simply left in the road, cannot legally be touched or removed by either the police or the council, and must be left there – and the owner attracts NO PENALTY. (I’m not stating this as fact, merely recounting what has been written by hacks in the media).

These stories have dragged on for months, maybe even years, as the various authorities pleaded ‘Not our problem’, and upset residents whined.

Seems to me there’s an obvious solution to removing this particular problem – no need for it drag on for months or years.

July 4, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, Lost, photography, Transport | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

