Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Is Photobucket now just another dodgy online business, out to fleece the unwary?

Photobucket has already irrevocably blotted its copybook by closing down the free hosting it suckered people into since around 2002 – then disabled overnight in 2017.

Fair enough had it decided to end this service, informed users, and gave them time to make alternative arrangements.

Or offered continuation of the service for a reasonable fee.

But, no. Neither honourable option was followed.

Instead, it chose to end the service without any warning to users, and replaced all free hosting overnight, and replaced all images with an advert inviting people to take out a subscription which would allow sharing.

For a mere $399 per annum.

An absolute bargain – if you happen to wear glasses like the bottom of bottles.

It took them almost a week to even have the courtesy of sending me an email alerting me to this on a personal account I used to host some images.

It’s taken them over TWO WEEKS to send the same email to me regarding this scam, for an account I used to host a few images for someone else.

Photobucket blackmail

Photobucket blackmail

Photobucket ignores instructions to close accounts

I now consider Photobucket to be little better than scammers, cowboys, or just a plain con.

I deleted all images and directories I had created in Photobucket.

I then selected the ‘Delete this account’ option.

The account page changed to show a confirmation that the account would be deleted on a given date.

Guess what?

A Week after their closure date passed:

BOTH ACCOUNTS ARE STILL LIVE AND CAN BE LOGGED INTO AND OUT OF.

ONE STILL SHOWS THE SAME AMOUNT OF SPACE USED.

ONE SHOWS A SINGLE FILE REMAINS.

BOTH CARRY AN INVITATION TO RESTORE THE ACCOUNT.

Screen grab taken this afternoon:

Photobucket Account Still Live 11 July 2017

Photobucket Account Still Live 11 July 2017

Like any good cowboy business, Photobucket does not seem to have a general ‘Contact us’ option.

There may be one buried away somewhere in there – but it should be instantly obvious, not something that needs to be hunted down.

The best I saw was a FAQ, and ‘Help’, but this just provides a few standard answers, and, of course, a big section on how to restore hosting… BY REGISTERING FOR A $399 PER ANNUM UPGRADED ACCOUNT INSTEAD OF FREE.

Advertisements

July 11, 2017 - Posted by | photography | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: