Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Anglers found on the Clyde

I didn’t actually ‘take’ this pic – it was merely a test shot to confirm that at least some of my poor little pocket compact was still working, having suffered a flight and crash landing into a supermarket checkout, and then an intimate meeting with the reconstituted stone floor.

Suffice to say it has been compromised, and a suitably low-cost (ie cheap) replacement will have to be hunted down.

However, some aspects are still fine (remembering the tiny sensor will never deliver dSLR detail) and this 10x zoom came out much as expected.

I’d spotted something moving in an odd way on the River Clyde between Carmyle and Cambuslang. Just blur to the unaided eye, I decided to use it as a test shot, to see if it could be caught.

When I got home, I found the ‘object’ was in fact TWO anglers (they must have moved further apart as the shot was taken), and the image even showed their rods – as a bonus, I also noted they were not alone, with a duck appearing in the right foreground.

So, I guess the little camera is not scrap, but I’ll need to a series of test shots to find out where it fails – I already know wide-angle shots are ‘mince’.

But the long zoom still works, so I got an unexpected pic for the blog.

I forget where I read it now, but there was another of those articles in the news recently, noting how clean the River Clyde was becoming, and how far upriver salmon could be found – seems they won’t come near a dirty, polluted, or contaminated river, so are considered a reliable sign of water purity.

Clyde Anglers

Clyde Anglers

This is a weird pic, which I guess is down to being taken of a bend in the river, and the shaded are area to the left. Or maybe the fact that the anglers are actually both leaning over, and not standing up straight.

To my eyes, it looks as if it is not level (slightly anti0clockwise to my eye), and the original was indeed far from level, being taken without much care purely as a lens test.

However, I tried numerous attempts at rotating to eliminate this, and I can assure you that any further clockwise rotation does NOT make it appear level, and even a slight rotation of this image (less than a degree) seems to make it look slightly to far clockwise from level.

I tried using the trees and shrubs as indicators of (reasonably) vertical items, but the result for the river was even worse, so i just gave up and went for what seem best to the eye.

It’s not the first pic I’ve found would not appear level, regardless of how I rotated it – I don’t suppose it will be the last.

July 14, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

