Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Cambuslang’s cute bike racks revisited

I’ve mentioned the cute car-themed bike racks of Cambuslang before.

I really like them, not only for their appearance, but also because their use of cars as a motif is a nice change from the sort of rabid anti-car hate spouted when SOME cycle fans get a chance. That sort of reaction helps no-one, and merely provokes a similar reaction.

I’ve noticed a number of decorative items seem to be disappearing from Cambuslang. There was a sculpture of some sort modelled on a drum kit (I think) which used to be in the main street, but I don’t think I can see nowadays. I don’t think I noted it in here, but might have a pic buried away somewhere, so might try hunting it down.

However, the bike racks remain, although I’ve yet to see a bike chained to any of them – or anywhere in Cambuslang for that matter (apart from Morrison’s).

I thought I’d reveal the BACK of these racks, as the decorative detail is cast (I’m assuming they are casting) in sections, only on one side, that facing the shops. The other side is plain.

Also caught in this pic is one of the bench seats which feature in the main street.

They seem to be pretty tough/robust, and unlike more conventional wood or lightweight street furniture seem to largely vandal proof. They’re solidly fixed, have no fine details to bend or break, and their smooth finish is easy to keep clean and hard to deface. So far, I haven’t noticed a damaged one – I imagine any piece of scum that tried kicking or breaking is likely to come off worst.

Cambuslang Bike Rack And Seat

Cambuslang Bike Rack And Seat

July 30, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography, Transport | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

