Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Missed me – again

The recent spate of violence in Glasgow was noted not only by me (since I kind of walk through some of it), but was also flagged up by the media.

Usually, when I try to lighten things a little with a ‘Missed me – again’ post, the reason is usually down to a walking route change, and finding some errant vehicle has clobbered something on a spot where I might have been walking, had I been there at the time.

Occasionally, it has noted a shooting, or worse.

The only possible positive note has been that such things usually take place at odd times.

Not so the most recent – ATM cash stolen in ‘terrifying’ armed robbery

An armed robber dressed in a “hi-vis” jacket took at least £10,000 from a worker delivering cash to an ATM in the east end of Glasgow.

The “shocking” incident happened at about 11.55 as the 57-year-old security guard approached the Tesco store in Annick Street in Shettleston.

The robber took the money box before making off in a small white car, later found burnt out nearby.

That in order of a mile from me, or 20 minutes’ walking. Pretty close.

The notable thing was the blatant timing of 11:55 – lunchtime.

Since I’m not a Tesco groupie I don’t have any pics, and I’m not going out for one, so this handy Street View capture will have to do:

Tesco ATMs

Tesco ATMs

I gave up  ‘normal’ shopping hours years ago, and started shopping at 2 or 3 am when the first 24-hour Tesco opened in Glasgow – it’s like having the shop to yourself. While the circumstances that made that my norm have gone, I still do most of my shopping last thing at night, usually on the way home, and avoid any sort of daytime shopping if at all possible – the queues are insane.

So, while I was actually there later, there was no sign of what had happened, and I only learned of it much later, when I looked at the news.

It’s not the closest…

One incident of ‘Shots fired’ at a house half a mile away.

Or the most serious…

I didn’t know at the time, but two-thirds of a mile away I passed a dying murder victim who had just left a pub – but at that moment it just looked like a bunch of kids around a drunk mate. The truth only came to light a few minutes later as it hit the news very quickly.

There was a closer incident, the theft of a number of cars, but that doesn’t really count as it happened in the middle of the night, and nobody was involved as it was not discovered until the dealer’s opened in the morning.

Update

To my shame, I can now be classed as a ‘Supermarket photographer’…

Although laden with shopping, I just couldn’t resist the urge to  have my own current pic of this Tesco, so grabbed this as I left last night.

And a hearty ‘Thank You’ to the driver of the white car, which parked in front of the subject (the ATMs) just as I pressed the shutter.

Shettleston Tesco ATMs

Shettleston Tesco ATMs

July 30, 2017 - Posted by | Civilian, photography | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

