Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

Good morning Mr Mouse – Goodbye Mr Mouse

Since I’ve never been able to find the ‘MICE WELCOME HERE’ sign that they’ve nailed somewhere to my house, it looks as if I’m going to have to get used my new job as Unpaid Gravedigger.

Since I hadn’t seen my traps (installed indoors) for so long, they were all fairly mucky, not from the attention of mice (since they only caught their first mice recently, but had been down for years – I’ve even discovered a fifth), but from insects and spider’s crawling over them.

I gave them all a bit of a wash and brush up, then left them to dry in a sort of outhouse at my back door.

Notably unbaited, but set, just to make sure they dried thoroughly, I unexpectedly came face to face with my enemy this morning – staring back at me, and almost hidden under my drying umbrella (of course it’s drying – this IS Scotland!)*

This is no real surprise, I was sure they liked to run around here freely, as I found one that had just dropped dead some years ago, and gave up leaving bait as I was going through buckets of the stuff, and it doesn’t come for free.

But now I know I can’t leave my back door open, so maybe I should just leave these traps here (baited) as a first line deterrent.

  • Scottish umbrellas operate in binary – they’re either getting wet, or getting dry, with no intermediate state possible.

Quantum physics also applies if they’re in a box (while Schroedinger’s Cat is out chasing mice) and their state is indeterminate until you look at them, and fix their state.

Mouse Surprise

Mouse Surprise

 

September 20, 2017 - Posted by | photography | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

