Secret Scotland

If it's secret, and in Scotland…

How can people walk away after leaving tyres like this?

While I may not suffer from the chronic OCD seen on some TV programmes, I do have the gene, or something related to it in terms of being a ‘perfectionist’.

There are many things I don’t even attempt because I know (or expect) not to be able to carry them out perfectly, or finish them perfectly.

Another aspect is not being able to do something “Just plain wrong!”

One manifestation of this not being able to leave a vehicle parked badly, which is just as much to do with being neat as it is not be seen to demonstrably be an idiot in public.

These examples go past that though, and frankly, I value my life too much to subject my tyres to this sort of abuse (as seen below).

It’s no wonder some people have tyres fail on the road as they drive along – the only good thing I can think about this is that many damaged tyres tend to deflate and become a recurring problem, so get replaced before the worst happens.

I’m reminded of some of my past company cars, which I drove for ages with no issues, yet when handed down the line, suddenly needed tyres every few months – and two of them failed while being driven on the motorway, with one spinning so many times it was declared a write-off. Lest you think I was desk-bound, in those days my weekly mileage varied, but could hit 1,000 miles per week (that only three trips to Aberdeen).

I didn’t set out to collect these and make a point – I just noticed them together recently.

Most of these seem to be inflated rock hard – but I have seen others where the tyres were clearly under inflated, and the sidewall was completely crushed by the weight loaded on it. Definitely not something you want to trust your life to afterwards. After loaning the company car to one of our female staff, I got it back (after a round trip to Edinburgh) with a cheerful “The steering felt a bit funny on the way back” as she dropped the keys and ran out the door. I bet it did! I walked around the car to find the nearside front had been kerbed, and driven flat for some distance – so far, in fact, that the rubber had been completely worn off the sidewall. The tread would soon have parted from the carcase if it had gone much further.

I once had a brand new tyre with a broken sidewall – so far out of balance the first time I drove it the instruments were unreadable at 50 mph, and when I was silly enough to approach 70 mph the whole dashboard was just a blur, and my day was over.

At least that was under contract hire – the tyre guy in the depot had not seen many, and even showed me the failed/faulty area of the sidewall.

Tyre: "Oh That Hurts!"

Tyre: “Oh That Hurts!”

And, a wander down the shops could have added another load to the above, but ‘Lisa Scott Jodie’ (you can’t make it out in the crushed image below, but that was proudly displayed on the plate) gave us this nice example, and a rule: ‘If you must have your name on your plate, you have to be perfect (or we will laugh at you)’.

Poor Tyre

Poor Tyre

There were some real gems, but they were the sort that needed more than one pic to reveal how bad they were.

Such as one tyre, jammed and crushed against the kerb by its own wheel rim and horribly crumpled. I’ve seen similar examples that just kept losing pressure later, as the sidewall had been minutely holed where the wheel had nipped it against the kerb.

October 6, 2017 Posted by | photography, Transport | , , | Leave a comment

   

