Another ‘old’ Ayr Jeweller

After mentioning Ayr Jeweller Wallace Allan’s shop recently, I remembered being told of another shop just along Newmarket Street, also a jeweller that was then (over twenty years ago) still in the same family.

I don’t know the name, but realised it was still something of a jewellery shop, but not in the same business as Allan’s shop today.

Apart from the colour (it is dark in old B&W pics from the past), the shop and close frontage is much the same today.

In fact, looking at the detail, the close (on the right) still has the same metal grid with arrow shaped decoration fitted above that entrance.

OK, I looked.

This was originally Matthew Mark & Son, born in Germany in 1832. Arriving in Ayr about 1859, the clockmaker initially found work winding up clocks, and was later able to establish himself as a clockmaker and jeweller.

His shop was sold to Brian Martin in 1972.

And, it seems it changed hands again, this time in 1978.

Ayr jewellery shop owner hands reins over to son as he retires after 43 years

Funny, sometimes you find surprisingly detailed tales online, yet others seem to have nothing,

Sale time

Not long after taking the above pic, I broke with tradition and got there early enough for the shop to be open! And I wasn’t even hurt when I fell out of bed that morning 🙂

However, it was still dull and wet.

Possibly the first time I’ve been able to glance inside, and have to say the shop is surprisingly deep, so bigger than the front might suggest.

Even one curious lookenpeeper at the window (I ran away after seeing some of the prices – I’m really out of touch now).

Leave a comment