Ayr Bus Station facade stitch revisit

I had to stitch a view of the facade of Ayr’s bus station in Sandgate, because it’s a narrow street and the facade is wide. You simply can’t take a few steps back to get it all into one shot.

This was the result.

While the geometry may have been satisfied, I wasn’t really happy.

I think the view is fine, but having the unavoidable cars in view means the distortions made to create the pic are made more obvious than they need to be.

I still had all the source views, so decided to give them another stitch, but avoiding the correction to horizontal and vertical this time (well, the horizontal at least).

I wouldn’t say it’s better, but it does retain the original perspective of looking up and down the street (or left to right if you prefer).

Either way, both results bother me.

Next time, I might try a series of planar shots as I walk along the facade – the only problem with this method is that while I can often stitch such views (most free software protests, being based on a stationary camera being rotated on a tripod for its calculations), it often fails as the perspective of items close to the camera (such as cars and lampposts) appear to change their position against the background, so the software can’t find and match them.

In this case, the narrow street means I can’t just stand a little further back to avoid this issue.

Can NOTHING just be simple?

Anyway, this is the revised stitch for this view at least.

I’d no idea I was standing so far from the centre!

I wonder if something there stopped me from getting the spot?

Leave a comment