The Kyle is STILL providing surprises since it closed

Ever since I noticed the various shopping centres around Ayr had almost closed at much the same time, see this series of posts Ayr’s dead shopping centres – 1. The Kyle, The Kyle has managed to be a source of (for me) new finds. It’s added more posts in here since then, and here is another.

I never really noticed the lantern above the centre of the Kyle’s shopping area, and suspect few do. From the inside, unless the designer elects to create some sort of special feature, then it kind of gets lost as ‘Just a skylight’.

In the ‘old days’ (think perhaps Victorian era), then such things were often part of a dome, and the internal surface would tend to be richly decorated, and therefore noticeable and memorable.

However, as will be seen in the pic below, the Kyle’s lantern is just like a white framed greenhouse, with little to make it noteworthy.

This was another of those ‘accidental finds’, spotted by chance as I was taking a shortcut through the car park area that occupied the area behind the former shopping centre. That’s a ramp for the car park building, on the left of the pic.

I’d no idea the lantern was even visible from outside, and it could easily be buried by surrounding structures.

I’m still not sure what’s happening here, with the local media having reported both on plans for a sports centre and swimming pool in this area, then of council uproar of some sort, and cancellation of all plans.

I give up, and don’t think it’s safe to mention ANY publicity given to plans here, as they always seem to change drastically, and make you a liar.

I think I’ll wait in future, and not mention any of the stories, unless I see wreckers carry out actual demolition, contractors on site refurbishing things, or new build actually underway!

Leave a comment