Step up your ‘Concert Flash’ OCD game to the video version

I used to think I was the only one that became irrational when subjected to the morons who take flash pics when A. They have been specifically prohibited by the venue and B. when they are nowhere near the subject.

The latter is doubly moronic since not only will an asthmatic amateur flash not illuminate a subject 50 metres away (it won’t even do 5 metres), the subject isn’t going to be visible (even if it was lit).

There was even a period when commentators were able to get a cheap laugh out of audiences at performance venues, making various disparaging comments whenever there was a volley of flashes, since it also ruined the view for those just trying to watch.

The only time I ever saw a ‘NO FLASH PHOTOGRAPHY’ announcement being religiously followed by the audience was many years ago, when I travelled down to England to see the other half of the Archaos circus troupe perform. Once a regular hit at the Edinburgh Festival (and once in Glasgow, after the council had quashed the exaggerated tales of sex and nudity the usual subjects made up in advance of the show’s arrival), most people up here were unaware that Archaos had two streams. The announcement at the show I saw In England was given very seriously – and nobody transgressed. In fact, I’d gone down with my camera loaded with high-speed, low-light film, and didn’t even feel like taking out, since I had to be able to drive back home afterwards!

Things were more light-hearted in Glasgow, where the show began with this piece of friendly advice (way back in 1990). Yes. I was there.

Things have become much more relaxed nowadays.

Even in places such as Kelvingrove.

It probably wasn’t that far from the same date as the video above that I found myself sneaking out of Kelvingrove, worried that I may have unwittingly transgressed.

I’d taken a tiny (for that time) Sony camcorder with me that day, just to shoot some tests, and see how it preformed.

Huge by today’s standards of course, but back then Sony had the idea of packaging only the parts of the tape transport/electronics needed for recording to keep the size down – for playback, a separate portable VCR was used.

The reason I felt the need to sneak out back then came after I spotted a notice which had appeared next to the information desk (and I had never seen before) with lots of rules regarding photography, most notable being that you were expected to inform staff before taking pics (I don’t even think video was thought of at that time), even just for personal use.

How things change – they’d be busy if that was rigorously enforced nowadays, with most people carrying a mobile phone taking pics and recording video – and tourist still festooned with cameras.

I think the notices are still there, and request that flash photography NOT be used due to the cumulative effect of the bright light on sensitive exhibits kept under subdued light to preserve colours and materials.

Some people with big cameras still don’t think that applies to them.

Thankfully, there’s still the fun side of this, and people who think the weedy single LED of a mobile phone is going to help them shoot a stunning video.

Kelvingrove Video Flashers

Kelvingrove Video Flashers

Leave a comment