Glasgow University sculpture oopsie at the School of Engineering

Well, THIS is irritating.

I took the pics below some time ago, but never got around to using them for various reasons.

However, I did play about with the images, to see if the perspective distortion could be fixed, and a few tweaks made to various image setting to bring out the surface details.

At the same time, I had a rummage through some online sculpture references and, at the time, found a few (and I really mean ‘a few’) listings which referred to this installation, and gave a few details.

Then, it seems I made the supreme ‘oopsie’ of not copying any of those scant details at the time, as I’ve just finished tweaking the pics – only to find that I don’t seem to be able to format ANY sort of search string that can find ANYTHING related to this sculpture.

Back then, I did manage to find the name of the artist, the meaning behind the elements (well, that at least is fairly obvious), and the date.

So, all I can do for now (unless anyone seeing this has details, and is kind enough to add them to the comments below) is include the pics, and tell you where to see this one for yourself.

Glasgow University School of Engineering Sculpture

Glasgow University School of Engineering Sculpture

The entrance to the building – the sculpture is on the gable end of the extension to the left of this doorway,

Glasgow University School of Engineering Entrance

Glasgow University School of Engineering Entrance

I grabbed a couple of random oblique views, just to capture the scale of this thing, which is not so obvious when it’s seen in isolation.

If the perspective looks odd (around eye level, that just because the road passing beneath this subject is not level, but slopes up to the left.

Glasgow University Sculpture

Glasgow University Sculpture

I still can’t believe how searches made within two years of the first effort didn’t seem to be able to find anything about this, either as a text or an image search.

Granted I did have to dig around a bit before refining what I found back in 2019, but at least I found something.

Leave a comment