Compare and contrast – things Glasgow achieves (sorry ‘achieved’ – this was 2019)

Sad to say, I’m having to cull quite a lot of my grumpy draft post as they date from late 2019, the time when my Internet connection died, and I didn’t know it was a fault that wasn’t going to ‘fix itself’. While some are timeless, and I can timeshift them almost without notice, others are ever so slightly topical. While the point I may have wanted to raise remains relevant, the subject was based around has become outdated. While that is mostly true of this resurrected post, I think the observation remains valid. Sadly, I really have stopped looking at the news/media these days (it’s often enough to make one reach for the Strychnine – an if you know how that stuff works, then thinking it might be better than watching the news shows just how bad the news has become!)

Man with big money bagUnfortunately, I don’t know how these went in the following years.

One of the recurring themes you can always depend on the media to highlight is what it loves to report as Glasgow’s abysmal health.

During the course of most years, you can usually count on the media running stories about how Glasgow is the unhealthiest place in Scotland, or the UK, waffle about ‘The sick man of Europe’, and since the definition of poverty is being ‘reimagined’ and made easier and easier to fall into, adds that for good measure as well.

Thing are even MORE fun if the writer can prefix any of their tales with ‘child’.

This was its most recent offering, spotted a few days ago.

Glasgow area found to have shocking levels of ‘Victorian diseases’

That claim (if it’s true, and not obtained by skilful/biased manipulation of the data) doesn’t say much for the benefits of wealth.

After all, the usual claim is that poverty breeds poor health, isn’t it?

In that case, how can this be…

Glasgow named millionaire capital of Scotland on this year’s Rich List

I scanned the list for my name, then realised it was the ‘Rich List’ 🙂

I love living in the poor east end of Glasgow

As if fate knew I was going to find this old post last night, while I was cycling home, I was passed by a nice Champagne (I think) Bentley Flying Spur, near enough brand-new given the styling details.

It pays to know your details, as the older, second-owner Bentley GT is becoming a popular choice around here as people realise how fast they depreciate, and seem to be picking them up instead of executive class Mercedes-Benz,

The Flying Spur is more expensive to start with, and holds its value better – but that wasn’t what made me notice this one.

This one was travelling in convoy with a matching Champagne GTC, top down 🙂

NO – I didn’t up the cadence and chase them for a pic!

 

Leave a comment