It’s going – West Coast Coral shutter mural

Caught a while ago, but even then the place was closed.

I didn’t even realise this actually had a subject at first – I wasn’t paying proper attention, then noticed the name of the shop, and the penny dropped.

Lost some of the shop sign since I had to lose the ‘TO LET’ sign nailed up there.

What I did catch, sadly, was the sign pointing down Limekiln Road to the Ice Rink.

It was still open when I took the pic, but as we now know, the second Ayr Ice Rink has now joined the first, and been closed.

There’s an earlier post somewhere in here noting the loss.

Coincidentally, it seems it’s just been subject to a renewed offer, which just appeared in news as I typed this post! Wonder how it will go (previous efforts collapsed).

Ghost Signs

I’ve just realised many of my shutter mural signs qualify as ‘Ghost Sign’ pics too.

The premises where I can shoot shutter murals have to be shut, otherwise the shutters would be raised, and out of sight, so could be photographed.

While that might be because i’m walking after business hours, I’m just as likely to be there during the day, and if the shutters are down then, the place is probably closed – permanently.

Just something else I’ll have to think about.

Leave a comment