Still hate my weather or, I’ve lost count of the spring false starts

I wish I could get a pic with all the various states of dress, or undress, the appearance of a little sunshine has spawned.

Let me state categorically, a little sunshine DOES NOT MEAN IT’S WARM!

However, it does convince some people to throw off their clothes and cavort in t-shirts and shorts, which seems crazy to me.

I’ve tossed only ONE layer of clothing over the past few weeks, and I am freezing if I don’t move around. Even when cycling, I barely get warm, and am wearing the same clothes, NOT the lighter, thinner, and sweat resistant kit I usually need to switch to.

At the same time, there are still plenty of folk wrapped up in their puffy winter jackets, woolly hats, scarves, and gloves.

Rather than curate nice weather graphs, I think I’ll just grab the summary charts my system gives me, which I can create with only a few clicks and edits. This is probably better than the graphs, unless I’m after something specific, as it gives everything at one go.

This summary shows the past two weeks, and can be zoomed (but you’ll have to DIY, since WordPress has screwed the ‘click to zoom’ that used to be so quick and handy for this).

Notable points are that the wind has finally decided to give us a break, which makes a MASSIVE difference to cycling into 4 MPH, instead of the 15 MPH we’ve had, with endless 20 MPH+ gusts.

Ext and Int temp charts should be self-explanatory – but watch the scales, as they change automatically depending on max and min values.

Wind direction is interesting, it’s almost as if the direction was continually rotating N-E-S-W-N every few days.

Temp Min/Max becomes more intuitive in the smaller graph, and it’s easy to see how the daytime is reaching higher peaks (when the sun shines and clouds go away), but don’t ignore the ext temp graph, which shows it’s NOT actually much warmer if you go outside and are NOT in the sun! Nighttime continues to be bad news, often getting close to freezing (which makes for rotten mornings). Last night took another dive, and I am STILL getting frost alerts!

Today, for a real example, I noted an outdoor thermometer at about +24°C when the sun was out – yet the properly screened outdoor thermometer (also in the sun, but properly screened, stayed at only +11°C, and that’s STILL COLD if you are in the shade and not working.

The other good news is a reduction in rain, and no extremes.

One of the signs I consider to show spring is threatening to arrive properly is when the big muddy puddles along the pavement and roadside actually dry up, having been near permanent features for months.

Stuff has started to grow, including weeds 😦

Even apple blossom – my tree started to bloom yesterday morning. Cherry trees started a week ago.

Leave a comment