Shiny heffalump spotted at The Forge

While I’m a bit of a stickler for adhering to the few laws and restrictions we have on photography in this country – especially because some sheriffs seem to think they can (and do) get away with inventing their own to suit themselves – if there’s a way around them, or someone has invented their own (probably enforced not by legal means, but by threats), then that something of an invitation.

While it’s perfectly legitimate, I was a little surprised to see ‘NO PHOTOGRAPHY’ signs distributed amongst some goods on sale in the Forge Market (as distinct from the nearby Forge shopping centre).

I suppose I should have, but since my cameras might have been spotted I felt it was safer not to ask why stalls selling sparkly mirrored ornaments were deemed out of bound by the stallholders – seems like free advertising to me.

But maybe the curse of the mobile phone and its ever-present inbuilt camera meant more people wanted a selfie or pic taken with the flashy tat as a background, and were making a nuisance of themselves.

Still, I’d be curious to know where someone who puts up such a sign draws the line if, for example, someone takes a pic and their stall is in the background, or caught in a corner.

I happened to be passing through The Forge, where there are shops selling the same stuff, so when I spotted a handy heffalump sitting in one of their windows, and was looking for suitable subjects to test a lens, I managed a handy test shot, AND circumvented the ‘ban’.

Nice lens, easily knocked the background out of focus as intended.

Shiny Heffalump

Shiny Heffalump

Leave a comment