Ayrshire’s experimental pedestrian crossings

I find these crossing to be a little bit irritating – there is another to be found on one of the roundabouts on the road to Monkton, on the perimeter of Prestwick Airport.

Not, I hasten to add for their presence, but the apparent absence of any information about them being placed online, either in websites belonging to the relevant road authorities, or even just some related blog (other than this one, of course).

I couldn’t find anything last year, when I first came across this crossing, nor can I find anything as I write this follow-up post, months later.

The only reason I know anything about them is because I contacted the local authority.

There are no instructions, or information for users, either on foot, or on the road, so nobody really knows what to do.

Pedestrians who approach it via the drop kerb are rewarded with automatic presence detection, and flashing amber lights, directed towards the traffic but, unlike a controlled crossing, or zebra crossing, drivers are largely taken by surprise. They usually stop for any actually on the road and crossing, but don’t give way to anyone waiting to cross, and who has triggered the lights.

I see many pedestrians just cross BESIDE this crossing, thereby NOT triggering the presence detectors, so no amber lights.

While I’m NOT commenting on the crossing or its concept, those behind it seem to have missed something essential – there’s not much chance of evaluating the usefulness of an idea if you just throw it at people, and don’t give them some clues – especially if it involves legal rules, and road crossing at least require guidance from the Highway Code, which generally relies on specific laws for it

After almost a year, I think I should be able to find some documentation or guidance online about these crossings.

Pedestrian needs to know, drivers need to know.

Leave a comment