23 GP on a squinty Toyota plate

I’ve long given up trying to make sense of car prices now, and this Toyota C-HR petrol hybrid is as good an example/reason as any.

It’s a nice looking car, but initially doesn’t look all that different from the hatches I used to favour many, many years ago. But, it’s a fair bit bigger, and classed as an SUV. Needless to say, it’s full of expensive tech too.

Back when I had to convince the boss to buy/lease the one I wanted, I recall visiting a motor show in Glasgow, and being shocked at a new car about to be launched, which was just a fancy hatch (and not a ‘hot’ version). Given the badge ‘Coupé’, the launch price was around £30 k. I imagine the laughter if I had suggested this as an option. I could probably have got four like mine in the drive for that!

I’m lost with new car prices, as the Toyota C starts around £30 k.

Better still, I was looking in the forecourt of the second hand ‘exec’ car dealer at the end of my street, and saw a newish VW van for sale, around £40 k. I thought that was expensive, and it seemed to have some extra, non-standard toys. Fool that I was, I looked it up, curious to know what it cost without the extras – If I got the model right, then this van cost close to £60 k new.

All I can say is I’m glad I’m not working to the budget I once did when buying vans for our small business – it was nowhere near that for TWO!

I often find it amusing to think some plates I ‘collect’ are wort WAY more than the ‘ordinary’ vehicle they are attached to, but I think I’ll have to give that up.

Even so, 23 GP is rather nice, and would NOT be cheap.

That plate IS ever so slightly off level.

I let my perspective tool loose on the original pic – like many on-road pics, it suffered from road camber – and used the plate as a reference.

As you can see, while the pic is indeed straight and level… the car is definitely not.

Well, NOT fixing it twice!

Leave a comment