The shifting Cambuslang Miners Memorial

There’s an interesting memorial to be found just outside the built-up area of Cambuslang Main Street.

It’s dedicated to those who worked in the area’s extensive coal mining industry, and does not forget those who also died, or that children as young as six would be sent down the pit to help support their families.

While the location is fairly prominent, it’s a pity the council didn’t take a little more care regarding the positioning of regulatory road signs, which are almost impossible to easily exclude from pics.

Cambuslang Miners Memorial

Cambuslang Miners Memorial

This isn’t the first time I’ve caught this memorial.

This was an earlier pic I grabbed one evening – you can ‘lose’ the sign, but the view is not so pleasing, but the lighting is effective.

Cambuslang Miners Memorial night

Cambuslang Miners Memorial night

It’s some years since I fell into Cambuslang, and I’ve probably never wandered along to this spot until last year, when looking for a nearby address. Then, I was amazed to see the memorial, as it used to be sited on a hill in the industrial park, about a mile away. It vanished from the park many years ago, when I used to use the near derelict area to practice flying model helicopters, but had to give that up when the ground was razed to make way for factory units as the park was developed, and I stopped visiting. With little on the Internet then, I had assumed it had been lost or trashed.

Unknown to me until recently, it was dismantled, moved, and eventually reassembled at the end of the Main Street, and dedicated in May 2005.

I wasn’t sure of the date of the original, but happened to find a much earlier pic of that first installation, from 1983, which provides a further reference confirming it was still there in 1986 (which is around the time I was flying).

A little more info can be found on Geograph:

Coal Mining Monument in Cambuslang

Original Cambuslang Miners Memorial

Original Cambuslang Miners Memorial

Note

Lest anyone feel I’ve made a terrible mistake by not including the possessive apostrophe with Miners as it appears above, be aware that I have merely followed the text as it appears on the memorial plaque, which has been prepared without this mark.

1 thoughts on “The shifting Cambuslang Miners Memorial

  1. I have a ‘vague’ recollection of having seen this monument when passing through Cambuslang en route to visit a friend in Bishopbriggs!

    Like

Leave a comment