One of the UK’s oldest lifts – in Glasgow – just got serviced

I’m always a little disappointed when I see a story about an old Glasgow building with interesting features, and find it doesn’t have a name.

In this case, the building at 146 Argyle Street was built as a warehouse in 1903, for Stewart & McDonald.

Inside, one of the oldest lifts working in the UK serves seven floors.

Reportedly reliable, it seems its last service was some 20 years ago.

And good enough to help get this building ‘listed’ status.

Still, it’s a pity being the only Paternoster in the country was still not enough to help that unique lift installed in the Pontecorvo Building – that would have been a gem to retain.

The Argyle Street building is hard to miss, with its pair of twin Titans supporting the entrance.

146 Argyle Street Titans

146 Argyle Street Titans

I’m particularly pleased that geograph was able to share one of Stevie Spiers great pics of the location (from 2010).

I tried to get a pic of this one over a year ago, and failed miserably.

For some reason I couldn’t place the image, although I knew I’d passed the twins many times and seen them from the bus.

Turn out I was completely wrong in my recollection, and had thought they were much further west, and located in a street running north-south – no wonder I could never find it!

I also ran into a cycle hating nutjob (note in What’s with the angry old bike hating men of Glasgow?) when I decided to make a final effort by going in by bike, and using that to cover a lot of ground in one go.

While I freely admit I was daring to sit on my bike and foot it along the pavement as I studied the building facades looking for this pair of carvings, that’s hardly riding on the footpath, or scattering pedestrians left and right at speed, which I wouldn’t be doing anyway – this old headcase deliberately crossed the pavement to force me into the wall, and almost off my bike. No help to anyone.

And, I STILL didn’t find the twins that day, or have a pic of them.

Leave a comment