I’m in Ayr again – and it STILL has the best registrations

As noted before, a trip to Ayr really does need a planned response to registration numbers if you are at all interested, and don’t want to go nuts!

Either look, or don’t look, because you will be spoilt for choice if you do.

We had MP 1 just a few posts back, now we have 1 FR.

Sadly trapped on an obsolete stinky old hulking 4×4 SUV diesel tractor Land Rover Range Rover from 20007 which, despite the ‘exclusive’ Overfinch badging, has a poorly fitting front bumper. A little oopsie at some point?

Not cheap, a set of nice wheels from them could set you back in the order of £12,000 to £16,000.

I’m not really picking on Overfinch, but I was walking past one near Parkhead Cross, home of Celtic, and the lout/yob driving it noticed I had taken a look (just to confirm the badge/name), sneered at me, and shouted “BET YOU WISH YOU COULD AFFORD SOMETHING LIKE THIS!”

I could have sneered back with ‘No thanks’, and laughed since his ‘tank’ then took over 13 sec (on paper, so how slow in the real world) to reach 60, while both of the cars I had at that time did the dash in 5 sec, but not my style, and I just ignored him, and carried on walking.

So, was he, as I have always assumed, a Celtic fan, or maybe even one of their lovely players?

I might add that I remain up to date.

Today, your Range Rover Sport SV EDITION ONE can come from the factory (no need for Overfinch) with 626 non-stinky petrol horses under the bonnet, a mild-hybrid Twin Turbo V8, reaches 60 in 3.6 sec (and it will, not just on paper), and go on to 180 MPH.

Leave a comment