PS Waverley and some neighbours

On the basis of take it while you can, I collected this year’s pic of the PS Waverley last night.

Berthed at the Glasgow Science Centre, just below the Glasgow Tower, since the paddle steamer wasn’t there at the same time last night, I decided to stop ‘Stop and Grab’ since my luck means if I don’t, chances are she’ll be sailing every time I pass again.

As well as the static features mentioned, you can catch the funnels of the TS Queen Mary, moored just behind, on Cessnock Quay on the old Prince’s Dock.

I’ll have to venture over into those strange lands over there, for some fresh pics, to see if any changes are visible.

Pity the water wasn’t calmer, it’s always nice to catch the tower’s reflection if it’s glassy down there – but not this time.

PS Waverley and Glasgow Tower

PS Waverley and Glasgow Tower

A little closer, please.

PS Waverley Berth

PS Waverley Berth

I used to wonder why poor old Waverley was involved in so many pier collisions, the most recent being Arran in 2020, and why there is a standing joke about a friend’s pics (taken at the pier near his home), as they almost always show the vessel going backwards.

Then a kind person told me the reality of the (lack of) manoeuvring control, and manoeuvrability, on a paddle steamer such as this, especially at low speeds.

I was enlightened – and sorry for the master.

Leave a comment